Board of Commissioners

Kill Devil Hills Town Hall

Mission Statement

The Town of Kill Devil Hills is dedicated to enhancing the quality of life for all citizens and property owners by providing the maximum level of service in the most effective and efficient manner while exercising sound fiscal responsibility. We value: citizen participation, honesty and integrity, unity and teamwork, fairness and equity and our unique natural environment. Our desire is for Kill Devil Hills to be recognized as a wonderful place to live, where our citizens receive high quality services, our employees work in an atmosphere of respect and support and our leadership stimulates cooperation and innovation in our community. 

Kill Devil Hills received its municipal charter from the North Carolina General Assembly on March 6, 1953. There are five members of the governing board operating a council-manager government. Policy making authority is vested in the governing board and among other things the board is responsible for establishing policy, adopting ordinances, adopting the Town's operating budget, appointing boards and committees, and appointing the Town Manager and Town Attorney.

2022 KDH Board of Commissioners Group Photo

(L-R: Commissioner Terry Gray, Commissioner John Windley, Mayor Ben Sproul, Commissioner B.J. McAvoy, Mayor Pro Tem Ivy Ingram)

Meet the Board of Commissioners

NameTerm Expiration
Ben Sproul - MayorDecember 2023
Ivy Ingram- Mayor Pro TemDecember 2023
Terry Gray
December 2025
B.J. McAvoy
December 2023
John WindleyDecember 2025

Contact Information

Mailing Address: Kill Devil Hills Board of Commissioners, P.O. Box 1719, Kill Devil Hills, NC, 27948

Phone: 252-449-5300 (Town Hall)

Email:  the entire Board or individually: 

code of ethics

“North Carolina law requires the governing boards of cities, counties, local boards of education, unified governments, sanitary districts, and consolidated city-counties to adopt local codes of ethics, and requires the members of these boards to receive ethics training after each election or re-election to office.” – UNC School of Government website

View Ethics Policy