Other Appointments

Dare County Tourism Board - Representative: Commissioner Mike Hogan

 As funding increased because of newly ratified tax legislation, the Dare County Tourism Board was reorganized in 1991 to place more responsibility on the Dare County local governments to regulate and control usage of public funds. The Dare County Board of Commissioners selects the elected officials to serve on the Tourism Board from nominations submitted by the Dare County municipalities.

Dare County Land Transfer Tax Appeals Board - Representative: Jacqueline Ricks-Sample

Established in 1985 when Dare County implemented the Land Transfer Tax, representatives on this board are nominated by the municipalities and appointed by the Dare County Board of Commissioners.

§ 160A-147. Appointment of city manager; dual office holding.

 (a) In cities whose charters provide for the council-manager form of government, the council shall appoint a city manager to serve at its pleasure. The manager shall be appointed solely on the basis of the manager's executive and administrative qualifications. The manager need not be a resident of the city or State at the time of appointment. The office of city manager is hereby declared to be an office that may be held concurrently with other appointive (but not elective) offices pursuant to Article VI, Sec. 9, of the Constitution…

(1969, c. 629, s. 2; 1971, c. 698, s. 1; 1989, c. 49; 1997-25, s. 1; 2009-321, s. 1.)

§ 160A-173. City attorney; appointment and duties.

 The council shall appoint a city attorney to serve at its pleasure and to be its legal adviser. (1971, c. 698, s. 1.)

Government Education Access Channels Committee - Representative: Mayor Sheila F. Davies

Oversight of the two government/education channels (Gov-Ed TV) is the responsibility of the Government Education Access Channels Committee, composed of all the Dare County local governments and 3 education entities (COA, the Board of Education & UNC CSI). The committee meets monthly / bimonthly on the fourth Thursday of the month at 3:30 p.m. at the Dare County Administration Building in Manteo. Administration and coordination of Gov-Ed TV is through the Dare County Public Information Office under direction of the committee. The Town’s representative on this committee is required to be a member of the Board of Commissioners.

Shoreline Management Commission - Representative: Commissioner Brandi Rheubottom

In March 2005 the Dare County Board of Commissioners requested an appointment from the KDH Board for one of its members to sit on a new Shoreline Management Commission, the purpose of which was to oversee and advocate the preservation of and restoration of the shorelines of Dare County. This appointment must be an elected official.